The Dominican Republic's Ministry of Mining records show that Father Miguel Domingo Fuertes Loren of the Barahona Parish requested permission on 22 November 1916 to explore and exploit the mine of a certain blue rock that he had discovered. Pectolites were
not yet known in the Dominican Republic, and the request was rejected.
Miguel Méndez and Peace Corps volunteer
Norman Rilling rediscovered Larimar in 1974 on a beach at the foot of the Bahoruco Mountain Range, the coastal province of Barahona. Natives believed that the stone came from the sea, and they called the gem Blue Stone. Miguel took his young
daughter's name Larissa and the Spanish word for sea (mar) and formed Larimar, to suggest the colors of the Caribbean Sea where it was found. The few stones that they found were alluvial sediment, washed into the sea
by the Bahoruco River. An upstream search revealed the in situ outcrops in the range and soon the Los Chupaderos mine was formed.
Larimar jewelry is offered to the public in the Dominican Republic, and elsewhere in the Caribbean
as a local speciality. Most jewelry produced is set in Silver, but sometimes high-grade larimar is also set in gold.
Quality grading is according to coloration and the typical mineral crystal configuration in the stone. Larimar also comes in green
and even with red spots, brown strikes, etc., due to the presence of other minerals and/or oxidation. But the more intense the blue color and the contrast in the stone, the higher and rarer is the quality. The blue color is photosensitive and fades with time
if exposed to too much light and heat